CMS SaaS

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MockTurtle

MockTurtle
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 October 2017 - 20:33

Hi,

I have a bit of a CMS-type issue and I as this is not in the least my forte I was wondering if somebody on here could offer me some advice! 

Basically, I work for an online manufacturing magazine and we need to completely relaunch our website so we are looking for a CMS platform to use. Now, my MD is a total tool: he has been told by various reliable sources that Metro Publisher has everything we need (is compatible with analytics, MailChimp, client database systems etc., has data back-up, is easy to use and so on) and I think it seems great for our purposes too. But today he's had a massive hissy fit about going with it and demand I come up with some alternatives (even though, as I say, this really isn't my area - I'm an editor). My question is: can anybody recommend some good CMS, SaaS platforms that offer all the above, are in the same price range or cheaper, can serve the UK with accessible support and would be good for magazine publishing. 

I know that sounds a bit garbled and there's a lot to chew on but any help would be greatly appreciated or I may end up having to spit in his coffee (or worse) next week.

Thank you very much in advance!

#2 Renaissance-Design

Renaissance-Design
  • Overlord
  • Code Poet
  • 1,583 posts

Posted 28 October 2017 - 01:11

Is SaaS a hard requirement? It rules out a lot of options including what's probably the best CMS platform for your use case: WordPress. It works for TechCrunch, Bloomberg, BBC America, Variety, Sony Music, MTV News, Time, Disney, the New York Times... I could list outlets all day, but you get the gist. The problem with SaaS is it locks your content into a third-party platform. It's your content - the lifeblood of your business - and it should be in your ownership and control, not held hostage by a proprietary platform.